Great First Day!

Woo, hoo!  We survived our first day :)! 

The boys were up, fed, dressed, and ready to go at 9:00.  They had fun reading their “back to school” letters, opening their treats, and taking pictures.  We covered Bible, handwriting (cursive), language arts, played Math Bingo, and then started Geography.  Today, the kids had to fill out their passport applications (including having photoes taken :)) and take a prestest to see how many countries they could identify.  I’m glad that we are studying geography this year because we all have a lot to learn – LOL!  They will retake the test at the end of the year. 

After a quick snack break, we moved on to Science and covered a quick  introduction of Ecosystems.  Next, we listened to a funny song called “Hello to All the Children of the World” which taught us how to say “hello” in many different languages.  A spontaneous catch and toss game was started with our inflatable globe while we listened – fun!!!  We finished close to 12:00. 

Dad covered math tonight on the computer.  The kids did great!  Tomorrow they will both try to set up and complete their lessons independently (with help as needed of course).

Everything went as smoothly as can be expected for our first day.  I will need to work on scheduling so that one child can be working independently while I work one-on-one with the other.  Tomorrow, I plan to have Brendan work on Math while I work with Ryan on Language Arts and vice versa. 

Overall, it was a terrific day!  I even managed to keep the laundry caught up, exercised for 30 minutes, took the kids (and myself) to the dentist, and got dinner on the table.  WHEW!  I think I’ll sleep good tonight :).

Verse of the day:

Choose my instruction instead of silver, knowledge rather than choice gold, for wisdom is more precious than rubies and nothing can compare with her.  Proverbs 8:10-11

 

Thank you Lord for helping me through our first day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

Enjoy the pics:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Great First Day!

  1. Happy First Day!!!!! Awesome, Awesome, Awesome website!!!! LOVE it and you guys!!!
    Love, Aunt Stephanie

  2. I’m sooo proud of you all! It sounds like your first day of school was a great success!

    Amy, I am so proud of you! You are doing a wonderful job!

    God is good!

    I love you,

    Mom

Leave a Reply

