An Earth Shaking Day :) !!!

Well, I never expected to be posting about an earthquake!  At 1:51 pm, we had a magnitude 5.8 earthquake with the epicenter in Mineral, VA.  I had just fallen asleep (everybody knows how I like my naps – LOL) and all of the sudden the whole house started shaking.  I jumped up and ran to the top of the stairs where Brendan and I proceeded to stare at each other saying “What IS THAT?”, “The house is moving!”, and “Wow, I think it’s an earthquake.”.  Ryan didn’t react much either.  He just popped his out outside the front door and said “earthquake”.  And what did I do after the shaking ended?…I said “Ok, I’m going back to sleep now.”  Justin just laughed at me and told me to get out of the house if it ever happens again!!! 

Our second day of school went smoother since I staggered the kids workbox assignments.  During Bible time, we read about the fall of Adam and Eve and how our perfect world  was changed forever (including harsher climates, plants that now have thorns and thistles, how certain animals are now carnivores, etc).  I could see the gears turning in both kids’ brains as they connected the Bible with “real” science.

For geography, we learned about how land masses are distorted when flattened to make maps verses globes.  The boys had to draw the equator and continents on an orange and then try to make them flat like a map.  It is not easy to do!  Then they had fun eating the oranges for their snack.  We decorated John 3:16 posters, emphasizing how God “so loved the whole world…). The boys then completeded their workboxes and did awesome!  I really love the workbox system and how it teaches the kids to do some of their work independently (I can see how the system is a lifesaver for large families!).

Verse for the day:

For the Lord gives wisdom and from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.  Proverbs 2:6 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “An Earth Shaking Day :) !!!

  1. Well, such an eventful day!! Then, again, maybe not! Don’t want to miss that nap! HA!

    Loved the pictures! And, ain’t it great….Brendan can chew bubble gum in school. HA!

    Glad your second day went so well! Praying today will go well, too.

    Love you all,

    Grammy

Leave a Reply

