Diggin’ In The Dirt!

Today was our best day yet…I think we’re starting to get into a groove.  It also may have helped that we started a little later, so mom had more sleep :)!  I asked Brendan and Ryan some questions about the God Speaks Numanggang to see how much they remembered from the story and we reviewed our Bible verse for the week (John 3:16 – For God so loved the world that he sent his one and only son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life).  This week’s verse is EASY since they’ve heard it their whole lives and it’s the key verse for AWANA at church.

For Geography, we learned a fun song that helps us to remember the names of the continents.  It’s a little “cheesy”, but IT WORKED!!!  We also learned more about the equator and the northern/southern hemispheres.  The kids had to label and color a map as one of their activities.

Then, came the best part of the day…We got to go outside and dig in the dirt looking for earthworms!  Brendan and Ryan had a blast!  I was getting worried during the first ten minutes or so.  We were digging and digging and there were NO earthworms to be found!  We actually had prayed that we would find worms during Bible time, and guess what?  God answered our prayers!  The boys thought that was funny, but God cares about every little part of our lives and will help us when we ask Him.  The purpose of collecting worms is to conduct a science experiment to help us learn how animals have niches within their own habitat.  Hopefully ;), the worms will mix the different layers (dirt, sand , and oats) to show their role in the environment.  The boys have to observe and draw any changes over the next few days.  For now, our worms are living up on the kids’ desks with their jars wrapped in black poster board to “make them feel at home” in the dark.

Verse of the day:

Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yoursMark 11:24

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Diggin’ In The Dirt!

  1. Hi Brendan and Ryan. This is Deborah in Oklahoma and I have a question for you. Yesterday you found earthworms and I’m curious if there are different kinds of earthworms. The reason I ask is because the earthworms that I have in my yard are bigger than I remember them when I was a kid. Most that I find are about 12 inches long and about an inch in circumference. So, are my worms different or am I just giving them good compost to eat? Thank you and stay safe during the hurricane. Grandpa and I will keep you in our prayers.

  2. Amy, Brendan and Ryan,

    Yall are having so much fun learning! Wish my school days had been like yours! I might have learned more. HA!

    Keep up the good work!!

    Love you,

    Grammy

Leave a Reply

