Hola Amigos :)!!!

Hola from Mexico!  The boys crossed the “border” this morning using their passports.    We found Mexico on the map, learned some basic facts about the country, and danced to some Mexican music.  Brendan and Ryan colored the Mexican flag and “read” 🙂 John 3:16 in Spanish.  We learned about Cuba and how Christianity is slowly growing as more Bibles become available.  I read a fun book called Nine Days to Christmas.  Then we went over our new Bible verse for the week and they wrote it in their Bible notebooks.  We watched a neat video about two families who live in Mexico and then headed back up to the school room to start studying deserts.  After lunch and workboxes, the kids had their second guitar lesson…it actually sounded ike music today – LOL :)!  It was a great first day in Mexico and we are excited to be learning about our new country!

I finally got the book that we are going through in my home school support group, called Homeschooling With a Meek and Quiet Spirit.  The author, Teri Maxwell has home schooled for many years and decided to write a book after speaking at conferences and having so many moms asking for more information.  The book focuses on “common issues that happen inside our hearts when we become fully responsible for our children’s education, when they are home with us all day every day, and when we add several hours’ worth of homeschooling into our full schedule as a wife, mother, homemaker, and Christian.”  I’ve heard that it’s a wonderful book and I’m so excited to have my own copy!   I love the verse that I studied last night, so that will be my Verse of the Day:

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.  Psalms 62:5-6

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Hola Amigos :)!!!

  1. Hola mi pequeña familia,

    ¿Cómo estaba la escuela hoy?

    Ok! I am ready to go to Mexico with you! Sounds like fun with learning the culture and Mexican dancing…..Wahoo!

    I love the way the room is decorated! Amy, you are a great teacher!!

    Te amo!

    Grammy

Leave a Reply

