Covering The Basics

We decided as a family that we need a break this week, so we are just focusing on spelling, language arts, and math.  The boys had guitar yesterday and have had lots of extra practice time with Dad being home :).  They had a fun time playing soccer today at P.E. and we took them to Dave and Busters for dinner tonight.  We also plan on going to the fair later in the week and working on our roller coaster and snake projects. 

When we decided to home school I knew that the kids would get “real” life experience…but, wow…in six weeks we’ve been through an earthquake, a hurricane, minor sickness, a colonoscopy, and a family crisis.  When I published my post yesterday, I totally forgot that Brendan subscribed to my blog (we have been trying to “soften the blow” and hide some of our pain).  He came up to me this morning and said, “I read your blog this morning Mom – it was encouraging.”  As hard as this time is, I’m glad that my kids get to see true faith in action.  They know that we are totally relying on God for strength to get through these next few days, weeks, and years.  Both boys have been flexible, understanding, and helpful over the past few days.  I am so proud of them both – we have two truly AWESOME kids :)!

Verse of the Day:  I lift my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from?  My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.  Psalm 121: 1-2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

