Field Trip Friday!

Our field trip today was to the Dollar Tree to buy items for our Operation Christmas Child shoeboxes.  The boys both gave a few dollars  towards the boxes and filled out a letter that the children will recieve.  You can now track your shoeboxes on-line and see where your boxes are delivered.  We are excited to see which country ours will travel to!  My devotion (Journey – November 10, 2011) last night was actually about the ministry of OCC, so we read that aloud for our Bible time today.  I want to share it with you too:

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

A LITTLE BOX OF LOVE

“Mom, we need to bring our shoeboxes for Operation Christmas Child to church on Wednesday night,” said my youngest daughter. 

I’m embarrassed to admit that I was a tad grumpy about spending even more money on gifts for the shoebox ministry.  Our budget for Chistmas is really tight this year, and this just added to my stress.

We bought pencils, markers, flashlights, batteries, gloves, coloring books, hard candy, and more.  And I was still a grump.  “How am I going to afford Christmas gifts for my own children? ” I wondered.

Shortly after the shoebox deadline, my odest daughter went to the OCC warehouse with our church’s student ministry.  They helped sort through the boxes and pack them for shipment.  There they met a girl who had received an OCC shoebox about 10 years ago.  She talked to them about poverty, and she told them about the gifts she received in her shoebox.  And she talked about finding Jesus through this little box of love.

There were other stories.  One young girl who loved to write received a pencil and a small pad of lined paper.  She filled each page, front and back, with tiny, lightly written letters.  When the whole pad was filled, she erased each page and started over.  And another story of a boy who received a girl box because there were no boy boxes left.  Inside the box was a package of hair bows and some paper and crayons.  He told the worker that he had prayed for hair bows for his sister.

My daughter was deeply moved.  So was I.  Those little boxes of love have changed eternity for so many children: they’ve changed my heart as well.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________

 I am so thankful for the blessings that God has given our family!  I’m thankful that we have enough that we can share our blessings with others!  I am blessed beyond words.  While we finished packing our boxes, Brendan looked at me and said “it feels good to help the poor.”  Enough said :).

Verse of the Day:  The one who gives to the poor will not be in need.  Proverbs 28:27

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Field Trip Friday!

  1. Hi Everybody!

    So glad you are sharing your love and your gift of toys to little ones overseas! Because you gave, two little children will have a fun Christimas this year and most importantly, hear about Jesus’ love.

    Have a wonderful day! 🙂

    I love you,

    Grammy

Leave a Reply

