Not So Wordless Wednesday :)

Ok, ok…Mom needed a “mental health day” 🙂 and some time to re-evaluate.  I’ve decided to spread the next 7 days of lesson plans out over the next 12 school days.  I feel like we’ve been skipping some of the more hands-on and fun activities lately and I don’t want that to happen!  One of the main reasons we chose to homeschool was to help the kids understand that learning can be fun!  I want to do the memorable activities that make the lessons we are learning “come to life”.  I was feeling stressed and rushed this morning and realized that I am in control of our schedule (with God’s guidance of course).  If I feel like we need to slow down for a while, it’s OK!  In fact, it’s better to take some time to regroup and fix what’s not working than to continue on with a stressed out mom and teacher.

We spent today working on our Valentine’s, putting some finishing touches on the Ryan’s shark poster and Brendan’s computer history project,  learned how to play Mancala (a popular game from Africa), and spent some quiet time just reading.  It’s been wonderful!!!  I also went through the schoolroom and pulled out all of the “extra” projects and activities that we haven’t used yet.  Our new plan is to implement actual “school hours” (probably from 8:30 am to 3:00 pm).  During those hours the boys will not be allowed to watch TV or play on the computer.  They may read or choose an activity from the “activity baskets”.  We will start this on Monday and see how it goes.

Some of the pictures below are from yesterday.  I found out about a reading program offered by Six Flags amusement parks and thought that it might help to motivate Ryan…well it worked!!!  He read Little House in the Big Woods in less than 10 days!  He is soooo excited about getting his free ticket and going to ride roller coasters in the spring :).  Brendan wasn’t quite as thrilled with the idea of a free ticket (he’s not a fan of roller coasters yet), but he’s already an avid reader.  I’m very proud of both of them!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Not So Wordless Wednesday :)

  1. Hi Everybody!

    Sounds like there willl be some good changes taking place next week! I know you all will enjoy your new schedule. Mom/Teacher, you are doing a fantastic job! I am so proud of you!

    I will say a prayer for your presentations for tomorrow–Brendan with your computers and and Ryan with your sharks. I know you will do well! I’m so proud of you both! 🙂

    Yall have a wonderful day!

    I love you all soooooo much,

    Grammy

Leave a Reply

