A Heavy Load:

This morning we learned how the Egyptians moved heavy stone blocks (about 2 1/2 tons each) by making our own lever and friction-reducing roller systems.  Both experiments worked well and helped us to understand how the pyramids were built wthout modern equipment.

This got me thinking about heavy burdens.

As a homeschooling mom of two boys, I sometimes wonder if the kids are really learning what they need to (a drop of self-doubt).  I get frustrated when they rush through their work or don’t complete their assignments the way that I would (a drop of dissatisfaction).  I get grumpy when I feel like they don’t listen and are wiggling in their seats while I teach (a drop of anger).  Sometimes I feel like nobody appreciates all of the hours of preparation and work that I put into my lessons (a drop of self-pity)…some days my burden feels heavy.  All of these “drops” can add up to a heavy load.  I get discouraged and begin to feel sorry for myself.  Then I remember that I am not in this alone…

This journey of bringing our children home to learn was not my plan, but God’s – it’s not about me.  And although it’s not about me at all, I know that God is using this season in my life to teach me many lessons.  I am learning to lean on Him for strength and companionship.  I am learning that He can do great things through His children.  I am learning to love, even when it’s not easy.

When the burden gets too heavy to bear, remember that your Father in heaven knows how you feel and He is always there for you!  Get into His word, turn on some praise music, pray and share your heart with Him, call a friend, watch a sunset, hug your children, just look around…God shows us His love everyday and in many ways!  Remember, if God called you to it, He will get you through it :)!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.  Matthew 11: 28-30

3 thoughts on “A Heavy Load:

  1. Dear Daughter of mine!

    There is no doubt in my mind that God called you to teach your sons! You do a wonderful job! You are always prepared, have planned exciting ways of learning, and Brendan and Ryan are gaining a great education–getting smarter everyday! 🙂

    Don’t let satan convince you otherwise! You are a wonderful teacher and I am so proud of you!!

    I love you,
    Mom

  2. Amy
    Never feel doubt, dissatisfaction or that no one appreciates what you are doing. I read every posting and view all the pictures. I see the hard work that you do, but I also see the results.
    It’s a blessing to read and see what the boys are leaning. Thank You

    You are teaching your sons who God is and what it means to be a Christian. Proverbs 22:6 comes to my mind. God has blessed you with a gift, an opportunity to teach your children. 1 Peter 4:10 comes to my mind, and you do use your gift well. I pray you will continue to find joy in what you do, because God wants you to (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18).

    God loves and stands by you, your husband does, your family does. You are never alone and always loved.

    William

  3. A friend asked me this yesterday and it made me think: If you were ineffective in your ministry (teaching), do you think satan would be attacking with these things (self doubt, etc?)

    Keep sowing, sweet Amy! Your harvest will be great!

Leave a Reply

