Three Day Weekend, Here We Come!

Brendan and Ryan have worked hard this week and we’ve covered a lot of information.  We continue to struggle with motivation and doing our best work at times, which is normal for most kids.  I am holding both boys to a higher standard this year and am expecting them to do their best, and it’s not always easy (for them or me-LOL).  I have a feeling that we’ll be talking more about giving 100% and how to work “as unto the Lord.”  I know that Brendan and Ryan are both smart and that God has BIG plans for their lives!  I will continue to do my best to encourage them, push them to work harder when needed, and trust God for the rest!

Today, we read the account of Joseph’s brothers and how they sold him into slavery.  Ryan and I had a “Pumpkin Prayer” lesson at AWANA last night, and we reviewed it again today – it’s such a sweet way to explain the gospel!  Here’s a copy for those who haven’t heard it before:

Dear God, As I carve my pumpkin help me say this prayer:
Open my mind so I can learn about You; (Cut the top of the pumpkin)
Take away all my sin and forgive me for the wrong things I do. (Clean out the inside)
Open my eyes so Your love I will see; (Cut the eyes out in heart shapes)
I’m so sorry for turning up my nose to all you’ve given me. (Cut a nose in the shape of a cross)
Open my ears so your word I will hear. (Cut the ears shaped like the Bible)-we did rectangles
Open my mouth so I can tell others You’re near (cut the mouth in the shape of a fish)
Let Your light shine in all I say and do! Amen. (Place a candle inside and light it)

For our election unit study, we learned about the steps that are taken to make a law in the U.S.  We also covered writing, math, reading, and learned some more about Egyptian life.  Tomorrow, we will be heading to Staunton for our annual Halloween camping trip :)!  I’m so excited that we get three whole days to relax, spend time together as a family, and enjoy God’s beauty!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Three Day Weekend, Here We Come!

  1. Love the Pumpkin Prayer!

    Yall have a wonderful time together this weekend!

    Love you all more than you know!

    Grammy

Leave a Reply

