Learning about the Psalms:

The book of Psalms is one of my favorite books of the Bible.  I love how the Psalmists pour out their heart to God…the good, the bad, and the ugly.  I love how I can relate to the many different emotions and feelings that are written.  But most of all, I love how many of the Psalms praise God!  One of my very favorites is Psalm 139:

You have searched me, Lord, and you know me.  You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.   You discern my going out and my lying down;  you are familiar with all my ways.   Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely.   You hem me in behind and before,  and you lay your hand upon me.   Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,  too lofty for me to attain.

Where can I go from your Spirit?   Where can I flee from your presence?   If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.   If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.  If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day,  for darkness is as light to you.

 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;  our works are wonderful, I know that full well.   My frame was not hidden from you  when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.   How precious to me are your thoughts, God!   How vast is the sum of them!   Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand— when I awake, I am still with you.

God knows everything about me, including the day my life will end.  He is everywhere and will never leave me.  He has a plan for my life and guides me with his right hand.  God know my thoughts before I even think them. As if that’s not enough, God still loves me anyway (my thoughts can be really, really ugly sometines) and that is awesome!  If you ever feel alone, or like nobody understands how you’re feeling…go and read through Pslams.

Today’s report:  We talked about how David wrote most of the Psalms and how, many times he is crying out to God for help because Saul is continually trying to kill him.  We practiced Psalm 1 and did a fill-in-the-blank worksheet as an extra activity.  Ryan is focusing on animals this week for science and made a model of a frog to help him learn their anatomy.  Brendan started working on his study guide for module 6 in General Science (Apologia) and will take the test on Friday.  We chose two new cards and this week we’ll be praying for Maureen and the Hale family :).  The boys also covered language arts, math, guitar, and their “regular” subjects.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Learning about the Psalms:

  1. You are so right about the Psalms being full of “the good, the bad, and the ugly.” I think it’s rawness is what my boys love so much about it. The Psalms are so rich with vivid imagery, from nature themes to pretty graphic violence. They never seem to tire of having the Psalms read to them.

  2. Well now, Ryan won’t need to disect a real frog since he was able to put together the plastic frog model. Remember disecting the frog AFTER we put the poor frog to “sleep?” Ugh! Amy, didn’t you disect a frog too?

    I love Psalm 139! I have tried to memorize it several times. Whew!

    Yall take care. Love very much!

    Grammy

Leave a Reply

