Wordless Wednesday Coming Soon…

…but today I want to share something. During my Bible study last night we talked about how so often we (especially us women) tend to be very hard on ourselves and even compare ourselves to others. We think things like, “Her husband is so wonderful. I wish my marriage was as good as hers!” or “She’s such a fantastic homeschool teacher!  My children probably aren’t getting the education that they need from me.” or “When does she ever sleep? Between volunteering at church, keeping a spotless house, caring for her family, etc. I am such a slacker!”. Do you ever have thoughts like this? I know I have! This conversation got me thinking…

As I blog about our homeschool, I show the “good stuff” because I want to be an encouragement to others who choose to educate their children at home. I want to share ideas about how to make learning hands-on and fun. I want to tell others the amazing way that God is working in my life. But guess what? I have bad days too…shocking right 🙂 ? I don’t usually show the pictures of frustrated kids, the days when I’m tired and don’t feel like teaching, the messes that the dogs make, and the regular “yuckiness” of life. Life is not perfect around here either!

Please don’t be so hard on yourself.

God doesn’t expect us to be like other people. He created each one of us to be different. He gave each of us unique gifts and personalities. He gave us our families for a reason. God only expects us to do our best in our own situations. He wants us to grow in our faith and strive to be more like Him. He wants us to share our talents and gifts to make other’s lives better and to bring Him glory. So, please don’t compare yourself to others around you and feel like you are not as good as they are. God made YOU to be you and He doesn’t make mistakes!!!

OK, there’s your encouragement for the day 🙂 ! Now it’s your turn to go and be an encouragement to somebody else who needs to hear that they are precious to you and to God!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday Coming Soon…

  1. Great post! You’re right, we tend to be creatures of comparison. I hope many find this and take it to heart. ~Blessings~

  2. Thank you Amy for taking the time to write about this. I love you girl!!! Hugs!!!!

Leave a Reply

