Let Them Hear…PLEASE!!!!!

So, today went pretty well…better than last week.  To be honest, I got a little grumpy last week (ok, A LOT grumpy).   As a mom (and teacher) of boys, I struggle with wondering if Brendan and Ryan are listening to me.  Ever.  I mean seriously, how can they take anything in while they tap their fingers, wiggle in their seats, thump the floor, giggle, lay their head on the table, look around the room, and grate on their mom’s every last nerve 🙂 ???  I’ve read a lot of books and information about how boys learn differently than girls, so I should know better but some days I just get plain irritated!!!  BUT when I stop and think about it, I realize that the reason that I’m irritated isn’t really about them…it’s about me and my expectations.  I have this unrealistic (VERY UNREALISTIC) picture in my head of the kids sitting still and listening attentively, with bright eyes as they smile lovingly at me for teaching all of these wonderful subjects that they are totally enthralled with – HA, HA, HA!!!

I have to just stop.  Stop!  Stop and remember that God gave me these two precious boys, knowing all along that I would be a homeschool mom – their homeschool mom.  He knows how they learn and will give me all the wisdom I need, if only I will ask.  God is on our side!  One of the best things about homeschooling is that I can stop in the middle of reading and have the boys do jumping jacks and push-ups to get the “wiggles” out – and, yes, I have done this in the past :).  It’s OK if they are antsy.  It’s how God created boys!   I need to remember that as long as the kids are learning and aren’t being disrespectful, then we’re doing great!  I need to focus not on my expectations, but on God and what He wants us to learn.  Maybe He’s focusing on the teacher right now…He knows that teacher has a lot of growing and learning to do also!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thankful for the opportunity to ask for my children’s forgiveness and to tell them that I love them on a daily basis!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Let Them Hear…PLEASE!!!!!

  1. I needed to read this today Amy as Gabriel and I started back to school again. Love you girl!

  2. Amy Michelle, you are a great teacher and an awesome Mom! Thank you for all you do to teach Brendan and Ryan and to guide them in the direction they should go. You are honoring God by being obedient to His calling for homeschooling your boys! God is faithful and He will lead you as you follow Him!

    And, how blessed you are to teach my wonderful, sweet, intelligent, handsome grandsons! Don’t you agree? 🙂

    Love you,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

