Counting Our Blessings:

As many stores start playing Christmas holiday music, the toy commercials begin showing on TV, and some (really CRAZY) neighbors start putting up decorations I decided that I wanted our family to truly focus on Thanksgiving.  We have so much to be thankful for and it’s sad that our society pretty much skips over this important time of remembrance in order to commercialize the next holiday just to make more money than last year.

I found a cool (FREE) Thanksgiving printable and thought that it would help us to focus on our blessings as a family.  You can find the printable at http://www.aholyexperience.com/2012/11/a-christian-family-thanksgiving-activity-the-thanks-giving-tree-free-printable/ .  We use our tree during dinner time.  Each person chooses a leaf, writes one thing that they are thankful for, and reads the Bible verse out loud.  We just started two nights ago and it has already been fun to hear how God has blessed us.

Ok, now to change the subject…I’ve already started researching classes and thinking about our homeschool plans for next year.  I’m almost positive that Ryan will continue on with the next cycle of My Father’s World and will be studying US History (Exploration to 1850).  Brendan will be in the 9th grade next year, so we’re heading into a whole new world of high school courses and college preparation (aaauugghhhhh!!!!).  I’d like to have Brendan study US History at the same time as Ryan studies it so we can all benefit from field trips together.  This may just be my dream of a well aligned year of studies and not what God has planned.   We will see!  I received an e-mail today and thought that it sounded like a good opportunity to try out one of the US History options that I’ve been researching:

I’ve been invited to try Time4Learning (www.time4learning.com) for one month in exchange for a candid review. My opinion will be entirely my own, so be sure to come back and read about my experience. Time4Learning can be used as a homeschool curriculum, for afterschool enrichment and for summer skill sharpening. Find out how to write your own curriculum review for Time4Learning.

I’m excited to see if the boys enjoy learning with this program!

One thought on “Counting Our Blessings:

  1. Hey Amy!

    Pace will be on MFW’s Exploration through the 1850s next year as well so we’ll have to get Ryan and Pace together from time to time. I’ll definitely check out Time4Learning for Jack. He needs some afterschool and summer enrichment. It just might be perfect. I believe Anne Marie Kegley is using Time4Learning for the first time this year. I’ll ask her how she likes it so far.

    I enjoy your posts so much… especially on days when I question, once again, why I’m doing this. I feel encouraged after your posts! Thank you!

    God bless, Kelly

Leave a Reply

