High School at Home:

20140119_212234On Saturday, I went to a seminar called High School at Home: Turning Possibility into Reality given by Diane Kummer. Diane is a high school consultant with HSLDA (Home School Legal Defense Association).  It was one of the most uplifting, encouraging, and informative seminars that I’ve ever been to!  I would highly recommend that anyone who is planning to continue homeschooling through high school attend one of HSLDA’s seminars.
20140118_084028We learned how to develop a general plan for the upper years, how to keep detailed records, and how to develop a transcript.  Diane talked about preparing for the PSAT, SAT, and ACT.  She explained some of the “ins and outs” of scholarships and financial aid resources.  She reminded us that learning can still be “fun” during high school and how to add humor to our days with our teens.  We learned about what college admissions officers are looking for, how to track extracurricular activities, teaching interview skills, and so much more!
20140118_084040I was excited that two other moms that I know were also there and we enjoyed sitting together and sharing with each other.  I have met some incredible friends over the past few years!
20140118_091925The most important reminder that I got from the day is that God will be with us through the coming years.  I don’t need to worry or have fear that we are not giving Brendan everything that he needs.  I love a quote that Diane shared:  “Be more defined by WHO you trust that by what you fear.”   I am trusting that God called us to homeschooling for a special purpose and that He will provide everything that we need.  There’s a song out by Unspoken called Lift My Life Up that is a great reminder of how God has brought us this far and how He will continue to provide for us.  Check it out at  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RBv2cjTiBd8 .  I think the lyrics to that song say it all….
20140119_212133

One thought on “High School at Home:

  1. I’ve heard Dianne Kummer speak at a homeschool convention and she does a great job. I think these kinds of workshops are so valuable! Thanks for sharing your experience – I am planning to link to this article for my Homeschool Essentials post tomorrow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

