By the Grace of God:

We had a great day today.  A really good one, and I boy did I need it!

I’m not going to lie…some days homeschooling is HARD and not a whole lot of fun. Don’t get me wrong, it’s the best decision that we’ve ever made for our family, but some days I just don’t have it in me. I try to make learning fun and incorporate hands-on activities, only for those activities to be met with groans and complaints.  I feel like I’m barely staying afloat and on top of things, only to realize that I forgot something.  I have other obligations and responsibilities that are sometimes short-sided because planning lessons takes so much of my time.  Some days, I’m just plain tired and feeling selfish and don’t want to teach anything!

But thankfully I serve a gracious God who lifts me up just at the right time. He may use a friend to encourage me. I may read something during my quiet time or in a devotional that uplifts my spirit. The kids may tell me “thank you for all of your hard work ” or Justin tells me that I’m “doing a great job.” And some days (like today) nobody complains, my lessons go well, I feel like the kids actually learned something, and everything runs smoothly. These are the days that help me to hold on during the long, dark winter!  Now, if only I could have another 70 days like today to help me make it to summer vacation 🙂 ………

___________________________________________________________________

Thank you Father for giving me the strength and endurance to keep going even when things get hard!  Please help me to remember that this homeschooling journey is your plan for our family.  Lord, I give you all the glory.  Each accomplishment, lesson, and smile is a gift from you.  Help me to see each moment as the precious gift that it is.  Help me to cherish these times with Brendan and Ryan.  Thank you for your guidance, patience, and grace!

IMG_0681

Brendan is studying the respiratory system in science.

IMG_0682

This was an experiment to find out his lung capacity…

IMG_0683

…we always knew he was “full of hot air” 🙂 !!!

IMG_0684

We have been looking at different cathedrals that were built during the Middle Ages.

IMG_0686

This one is very cool! It reminds me of the sand castles that Justin and the boys build by dropping wet sand over and over to build height.

IMG_0687

I love how the beautiful, tall ceilings draw your eyes upward toward heaven!

IMG_0690

Grammar lesson on participles

IMG_0694

Both kids have finished their memory work from Corinthians!

IMG_0700

Our new verse: Phillippians 2:4 (this is Ryan’s writing from dictation – we will correct grammar and spelling later)

IMG_0697

Great job Ryan!!!

IMG_0698

You too Brendan!!!

IMG_0703

Our two families that we are praying for this week!

IMG_0710

Brendan learning how vocal cords vibrate to make sound.

IMG_0704

Our next real aloud and so far it is AWESOME!!!

IMG_0712

Ryan working in his new science notebook.

IMG_0713

We are excited to be starting astronomy and learning more about God’s amazing creation!

IMG_0714

I love the drawing of Stonehenge!

IMG_0715

Brendan smiling because he’s almost finished with his assignments for the day 🙂 !

2 thoughts on “By the Grace of God:

  1. Amy, you are doing a fantastic job homeschooling your boys. I know they are learning more than you realize. One of these days you are going to look back and say “Where did the time go”? I am sure your Mom has told you this same thing 🙂 I am also sure it is easy to get discouraged and worn out. I could never do what you are doing. God is with you each day, just like you said, to help lift you up. Please know we lift you up each day in prayer too. All of you! God is so good to us and without Him we are helpless. Keep looking up and enjoy the moments. Remember you have tons of family that are sooooo proud of you.

  2. I’m very proud of you, Amy, for keeping on, even during those rough days! You are doing a wonderful job teaching Brendan and Ryan!

    Thank you for beening faithful to the task God has called you to! And, I know He will be faithful to see you through!

    Brendan and Ryan have the best teacher in the world! 🙂

    Love you,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

