Let’s Get Organized – Part 2

So, last time I showed how I organized all of Ryan’s curriculum for next year…today I’m going to share how I organized Brendan’s schoolwork.  This is my first time preparing a student for high school, so I’m sure there will be some “tweaking” here and there as we figure things out 🙂 .  Since Brendan will be working independently for the most part, he will be doing a majority of his assignments in his room (he needs “peace and quiet”).

One of Justin’s coworkers is moving and wanted to get rid of a bookshelf.  I decided to paint it black to match Brendan’s furniture so he could have a dedicated shelf for all of his schoolwork.  It’s not my best work, but I think it turned out alright:

IMG_2932

Before…

IMG_2963

…and after!

_________________________________________

Brendan will be completing Ancient History and Literature from My Father’s World.  AHL is a one-year curriculum that integrates history, English, and Bible (3 full-year credits).   He will also be taking Apologia’s Physical Science, Spanish 1, Tennis, and Android Programming.

IMG_2956

______________________________________________

I found a blog post that had great ideas for organizing AHL, so I totally copied what this other mom had done 🙂 !  You can see the post here.

 

IMG_2966

Brendan’s binder is set up and ready to go!

IMG_2971

Here are the first set of tabs.

IMG_2967

And of course, you can never have too many pencils 🙂 !

_____________________________________________

These are the categories that I included:

  • History – Review Questions
  • History  – Maps
  • History – Quizzes
  • History – Greek Alphabet
  • Bible – Old Testament Challenge
  • Bible – Kings Chart
  • Bible – Daniel Study
  • Bible – Service Project Log
  • English – Papers in Progress
  • English – Competed Papers
  • English – Exercises
  • English – Reading Log

__________________________________________

Below are items included in the History – Maps section:

IMG_2968
IMG_2969

____________________________________________

Copies to help Brendan study the Kings of Israel:
IMG_2972

____________________________________________

A copy of the Daniel Study:

IMG_2974

IMG_2975

The second half of tabs.

IMG_2960

I went ahead and precut Brendan’s timeline pieces…I’d rather him spend time studying than cutting!

_________________________________________

Here’s the finished product!!!

IMG_2978

I’m HOPING that starting off with everything in order will help Brendan stay organized (probably wishful thinking on my part 🙂 ).  But he ‘s in high school now, so it’s going to be up to him!  My next “Let’s Get Organized” post will be of our schoolroom…

I hope everybody had a fun and safe Fourth of July!!!

One thought on “Let’s Get Organized – Part 2

  1. We’re doing the same curriculum this year! Thanks for the ideas 🙂 Good luck with your year! Vanessa

Leave a Reply

