Review: Flourish – Balance For Homeschool Moms

Many times when other moms find out that I homeschool, work part-time, and keep a somewhat organized home 🙂 they ask, “How do you do it all?”

I just laugh and say that with God’s help we take one day at a time!  I by no means “have it all together” and struggle everyday trying to find the right balance.  So, when I was given the opportunity to review Flourish – Balance For Homeschool Moms , I just had to read it!

_________________________________________________

Flourish – Balance For Homeschool Moms was written by Mary Jo Tate, a single homeschool mom of four boys who supports her family by herself…talk about someone who “does it all” 🙂 !!!

This beautiful paperback book, published by Apologia Educational Ministries is 288 pages long and retails for $15.00.  Although Mary Jo is a single mom and the bread winner of her family, this book is beneficial for any busy mom who needs help with organization, time management, and encouragement.

_______________________________________________

IMG_2950

___________________________________________

Flourish- Balance for Homeschool Moms consists of 16 chapters:

  1. An Invitation to Flourish
  2. Change Your Mind to Change Your Time
  3. The FREEDOM Toolbox
  4. Where Did My Time Go?
  5. Aim High: Setting Goals
  6. What Do I Do Next?  Seven Essential Planning Tools
  7. We Interrupt This Program
  8. It’s Time For An Attitude Adjustment
  9. Oxygen Masks and Monkey Bread Days
  10. Training Your Children
  11. Making Memories
  12. Managing Your Home
  13. All of Life is Learning
  14. Solo Act: Flourishing as a Single Mom
  15. Home Business
  16. Moving Ahead

Additional:  Appendix A : Recommended Resources, Appendix B: Planning Forms, and Notes

IMG_2953

_________________________________________

Flourish is full of inspirational and motivational quotes like this one:

♥  There are two sure ways to fail: 

Think and never do, or do and never think.  Zig Ziglar

________________________________________

Mary Jo shares the definition of flourish on page 6:  “What exactly does it mean to flourish?  It means to grow vigorously, luxuriate, be revived, or abound.”

I don’t know about you, but most days I don’t feel like I’m flourishing…I feel like I’m barely keeping my head above the water! I love how she reminds us that we need to spend time with God as our main source of refreshment!

The Lord will guide you always:  he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame.  You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.  Isaiah 58:11

___________________________________________

IMG_2951

_________________________________________

Some of my favorite takeaways from Flourish:

  • The reminder that nobody “does it all” and that I need to redefine what “it all” is.
  • Instead of “juggling” my responsibilities, I need to think more like a tightrope walker.  I need to stay centered on God, and make small adjustments gradually to balance everything out.
  • Learning that I need to “find peace in the space between the ideal and the reality.  Nothing is ever going to be perfect, so I need to learn to be happy with “real life”, even when it’s not how I would prefer it to be.
  • It’s OK to say no 🙂 !  When I say yes to something, that means that I’m saying no to something else (after all, there’s only so much time in a day).  I LOVE this quote by Elisabeth Elliot on page 29:
“If we really have too much to do, there are some items on the agenda that God did not put there
Let us submit the list to Him and ask Him to indicate which items we must delete
There is always time to do the will of God.  If we are too busy to do that, we are too busy.”
  •  The FREEDOM acronym: (Focus, Reflect, Educate, Eliminate, Discipline, Organize, Multitask)
  • This list could go on and on…

                     …but I think you should read this AMAZING book for yourself 🙂 !

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Flourish – Balance For Homeschool Moms

  1. I love those quotes you pulled from her book! I am incredibly OCD, so organization and I are best friends :), but this sure sounds like a good read! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

