Let’s Get Organized: Part 3

IMG_3065
In Let’s Get Organized: Part Two,  I shared how I organized Brendan’s schoolwork and shelf, so today I want to share how I’ve organized the schoolroom for the upcoming year.  I rearrange our room every year to make it feel somewhat new.  I have to admit that this year was kind of sad because Brendan won’t be with us as much now that he’s in high school 😦 .  His middle school years went by so fast, but I’m eternally grateful that I got to spend that precious time with him.

Ryan had fun helping me move furniture around and setting up his “corner desk”.  He requested a window view this year 🙂 .

___________________________________

Since we will be studying US History over the next two years, I had fun decorating with patriotic items and lots of red, white, and blue!

IMG_3068
IMG_3066

IMG_3064
___________________________________________________

Below, you’ll see where we’ll have our timeline.  We also have our prayer reminders and a clear page protector where I’ll add our weekly memory verse.

IMG_3069

__________________________________________

We hung our white boards right across from Ryan’s desk area.  Also in that corner are my file cabinet, our TV/DVD player, electric pencil sharpener (a must have 🙂 ), a large US map, and drawers full of supplies that we’ll use throughout the year.

IMG_3070

__________________________________________

Here is a better view of Ryan’s new desk area where he’s got a bulletin board, his workboxes, drawers, “lockers”, and school supplies.

IMG_3071

____________________________________________

Since Brendan won’t be needing workboxes anymore, I decided to organize and store various supplies and art materials.  I just love my label maker 🙂 !!

IMG_3072
_____________________________________________

I have a small bookshelf right beside my reading chair with all of our Exploration to 1850 books.

IMG_3079
Extra reference books and the novels that are on Ryan’s reading list are on anther bookshelf.

IMG_3076

_____________________________________________________

In Let’s Get Organized: Part One, I shared how I have weekly folders organized for the year.  Because that bin is so large, I take one week out at a time and put it in the red box on my desk so I can reach it easily.
IMG_3073
______________________________________________

And last but not least is the verse that kept jumping out at me during this year’s convention.  I just love it and was excited to find that one of my favorite vendors, Net’s Art had this adorable card.  I have it hanging in near my desk as a reminder that the most important “book” that we’ll be studying is God’s Word!  I believe that our children are like “tender plants” that need to be nurtured, fed, and protected as they grow so that they can develop strong roots that will keep them grounded as they go out into the world.

IMG_3063

Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.”  Jeremiah 17: 7-8

He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.  Psalm 1:3

 

2 thoughts on “Let’s Get Organized: Part 3

  1. Oh, to have a homeschool room! (sigh) Yours looks great! 🙂

  2. Wow! Looks great!

Leave a Reply

