Flower Power!

Ryan and I have been enjoying our botany studies and I can’t believe how much I’ve learned so far.  God’s creation is SOOO AMAZING!!!  I am so thankful that this science course from Apologia has helped us learn the intricate, fascinating details of seeds, plants, and flowers.

Have you ever thought about how many Bible verses use botany to help us learn about the nature of God? 

Here a just a few:

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God will stand forever.  Isaiah 40:8

And God said, “Behold, I have given you every plant yielding seed that is on the face of all the earth, and every tree with seed in its fruit. You shall have them for food.  Genesis 1:29

He is like a tree planted by streams of water that yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not wither. In all that he does, he prospers.  Psalm 1:3

I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.  John 15:5

Truly, truly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit.  John 12:24

I just love how God uses His Creation to teach us!!!

IMG_4934IMG_4949IMG_4938 This week we got to “dissect” a flower to learn about it’s parts…MUCH nicer (and cleaner) than the frog, cricket, and worm we dissected earlier this year 🙂 !

IMG_4939

IMG_4942

IMG_4941

 

IMG_4943

IMG_4950
__________________________________________________________________

 One of my homeschooling buddies let us borrow an art DVD by Creating a Masterpiece last week and the timing couldn’t have been more perfect!  It’s not Ryan’s favorite subject, but he’s done very well.  I, however have had a blast taking the  course with him since I enjoy drawing!

IMG_4945

IMG_4947

 

IMG_4946

We’ve got a few more touch ups to make, but I think they’re turning out pretty good!  The teacher, Sharon Hofer breaks each lesson down into small, easy manageable segments that make learning easy.  I’m hoping to pick up a few more DVD’s at the conference in June.

Speaking of the 2015 HEAV Conference 🙂 , I will be giving away a FREE Family Registration to this year’s conference on Friday, February 20th!  Stay tuned for details on how to enter the drawing for the give away!!!

Lilies of the Field, Matthew 6:28 And why do you worry about clothes?

2 thoughts on “Flower Power!

  1. Botany! Sounds like a fun subject! Great job drawing the flowers! Love you all, Grammy

  2. Love the flowers and the study. Ya’ll have so much fun! I also like the verse Matthew 6: 28 with the picture of the lilies! It says a lot! (Hint: I have been studying Solomon and all his riches!)

Leave a Reply

