Renewed JOY!

IMG_7869
Yesterday afternoon I sat in a packed room and watched tears roll down the faces of tired, discouraged homeschool moms who were desperately looking for encouragement and hope that this journey of homeschooling is worth all of the sacrifices and struggles that they face every day.

The session, led by Todd Wilson (The Family Man) was titled, “How to Keep Going When You Feel Like Giving Up”….and it was JUST what I needed to hear.

You see, I was one of those moms (with tears in their eyes) looking for reassurance that I’m not alone in feeling tired and defeated some days.

Or like I’m failing my kids. Or that I’ve lost my joy.

Or that this is too hard…

IMG_7919

______________________________________________________________

The whole weekend was a breath of fresh air.  I was surrounded by like-minded families who get us (really get us).  They understand the fears and frustrations, the joy and triumphs; the thrill of knowing that homeschooling is God’s plan for your family, and the terror that you’re doing something wrong.  Most importantly, these families know that we’re all in this together as we cling on to the promise that God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose (Romans 8:28).

___________________________________________

This was my 5th HEAV convention and it feels like home now 🙂 .  I don’t know where I’d be without the support and encouragement from this amazing organization!  I know that I say this every year, but I always leave the weekend refreshed and encouraged with renewed passion for why we do what we do.

IMG_7862

______________________________________________________

20150612_083831

  ______________________________________________

I was amazed and inspired as I listened to the testimony of Steve Scheibner, the American Airlines pilot who was originally scheduled to be the First Officer on Flight 11…September 11th, 2001.  The day that changed everything.

Click here to see his family’s story – I promise you this 15 minute video will touch your heart!

     ____________________________________________________

I learned how vital it is teach our children a biblical worldview from a session by Ken Ham, the CEO of Answers in Genesis.

IMG_7901IMG_7902

________________________________________

I met new people, enjoyed fellowship with precious friends, and so much more…

I still need some time to process everything and think about what God wants me to share with you guys, so for now I’ll just end with a slideshow.

More thoughts to come soon 🙂 …

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

    __________________________________________

Image result for do not grow weary in doing good

3 thoughts on “Renewed JOY!

  1. So wonderful to meet you at HEAV…looking forward to keeping connected to the Hatfields!

  2. So glad you enjoyed your HEAV conference! And, I am so thankful to God for the calling He placed on your heart to homeschool Brendan and Ryan! You have done a fantastic job and I know it is all because of your faithfulness to the Lord! God is good and faithful and He will see you through with the upcoming years of homeschooling! I’m so proud of you!
    Love you,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

