Blast to the Past!

IMG_7965

I thought my boys were getting tall…until they stood beside a life-size replica of Goliath – WOW!!!

_________________________________________________

Last week, over 400 kids and 200 volunteers participated in Vacation Bible School at our church!  This year’s theme was Blast to the Past and the kids learned about the character of God through lessons from the Old Testament.  Each day the kids went to crafts (where they helped with mission projects), music, recreation, story time, and class time. 

IMG_7968IMG_7988IMG_7980IMG_7978IMG_7979

____________________________________________________________

This was Ryan’s first year working as a group leader.  He said that his group of first and second graders were a handful 🙂 !  Brendan actually ended up being a group leader in my class again and did a great job!  We had some challenging kids, but it was a good learning experience about how important it is to show God’s love to those that are hurting.

IMG_7981 IMG_7973    _____________________________________________________________

IMG_7966

IMG_7987IMG_7971IMG_7974IMG_7985IMG_7984IMG_7986VBS-Lucas_N_2015-06-25_11-09-14 (2)This was my 15th year of helping with our church’s VBS!  If that doesn’t make you feel old, I don’t know what will- LOL!

As tiring as it can be, I wouldn’t miss it for the world!

I love seeing the excitement and joy on the children’s faces…it’s contagious!

And the smiles, laughter, fun, friendships, learning, and love are PRICELESS!!!

____________________________________________

I am so thankful that we had the opportunity to spread the love of Jesus last week….

***With everything that is going on in our nation lately, it is CRUCIAL that we teach our children that God’s word is TRUTH and He NEVER changes!

______________________________________

Even though I knew this was coming, I am sad.

I am sad for our country.

I am sad about the world that my boys have to grow up in.

I am sad because I know this breaks God’s heart….

BUT,

… we will not fear, though the earth give way
    and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
    and the mountains quake with their surging.

There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
    the holy place where the Most High dwells.
God is within her, she will not fall;
    God will help her at break of day.

 Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
    he lifts his voice, the earth melts. The Lord Almighty is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress.

 Come and see what the Lord has done,
    the desolations he has brought on the earth.
 He makes wars cease
    to the ends of the earth.
He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
    he burns the shields with fire.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”

The Lord Almighty is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress.

(Psalm 46)

______________________________________________

Never forget:

One thought on “Blast to the Past!

  1. Loved looking at all the VBS pictures and especially the ones with my grandchildren! 🙂

    I agree with all that you said in the rest of your blog, especially the verse you ended with! Amen!

    Another good verse to remember:

    Isaiah 54:10

    Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed,” says the Lord, who has compassion on you.

    Love you,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

