Perfect Peace

This particular verse has been popping up lately in my devotions and Bible study:

“You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in You, all whose thoughts are fixed on You.” 

Isaiah 26:3

God is gently reminding me to keep my eyes fixed on Him and to trust in His plan.  That’s where true peace comes from.

As I was thinking about this, I remembered being a child and trying to walk across a balance beam.  Have you ever tried to? You have to keep you eyes looking straight ahead…on the end goal.  If you look down, you will most likely lose your balance and fall.

This is also true as a homeschool mom and parent.  If I look down or away from the end goal, I start to slip.  I begin to compare myself and my kids to others.  I begin to doubt our decision.  I focus on our failures instead of how far we’ve come.  I get frustrated when things don’t come easily or go they way I think they should go.

 I have to force myself to stop, take a breath, and re-focus.  I have to remember to strive for the end goal:

To follow God’s will for our family (I delight to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart Psalm 40:8).

To continue to feed Brendan and Ryan from God’s word, believing God’s promise that it will take root in their hearts.  (“For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven and do not return there but water the earth, making it bring forth and sprout, giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it. Isaiah 55 9-11).

To work hard, do the best that I can, and leave the rest up to God (And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:6).

 

I could use that reminder often and am so thankful that God gave me what I needed, just at the right time 🙂 !

_______________________________________________

IMG_8101

Ryan’s first General Science experiment

IMG_8104

Learning how liquids have different densities

IMG_8109

Testing a rock, grape, ice cube, and cork (along with cooking oil, water, and corn syrup)

IMG_8111

IMG_8115

Steadily working on memorizing the 50 states

IMG_8118

Our first memory verse of the year

IMG_8120

Driver’s Ed flash cards

IMG_8119

Easing Brendan into the school year – he’ll be adding Spanish and Biology next week

IMG_8121

Sweet, encouraging notes from Justin that have gotten us through the week!

IMG_8102 IMG_8105 IMG_8108 IMG_8114 IMG_8116
____________________________________________________________

2 thoughts on “Perfect Peace

  1. Those are beautiful scripture verses. You are doing a great job homeschooling and bringing up your sons in light and truth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

