Fieldtrip to PER Radio

Have you ever thought about the power of music, or had a song stuck in your head and no matter what you do, can’t stop repeating the lyrics over and over?

What we listen to makes a huge difference in our lives.  As I tell my kids, “garbage in, garbage out.”  Christian music can lift your mood, help you memorize scripture, and touch your heart in a special way.

IMG_9151

I love, love, love listening to my “Jesus music”on the radio and jumped at the chance to take a field trip to Fredericksburg to visit the PER Radio (Positive Encouraging Radio)station!

We got to meet Don (Program Director and Morning Show Co-Host),  Angela (Morning Show Co-Host) and Theresa (Midday host & Director of PER Day Sponsorships).  They were all so sweet and you could tell that they love their jobs and that they love the Lord!

IMG_9201

IMG_9168

It was amazing to hear how God has been faithful over the past (almost 17) years from when they started in a rundown trailer (full of mice and even a few snakes) to providing the beautiful office space and studio that they have now.

IMG_9175

The staff were so excited and grateful to have their own offices (with windows), a break room where they can eat together, and even a men and a women’s bathroom 🙂 !

IMG_9179

_________________________________________

They had a BEAUTIFUL prayer wall where anybody can write down a prayer request, slip it into the wall, and know that their request will be prayed over:

IMG_9174

The building also contained a cool memorial brick wall:

IMG_9186

IMG_9187

IMG_9190

_____________________________________

We learned about the history of the station, got to practice with the mics and make a few voice recordings, learn how things work, ask lots of questions, and tour the facility.  One of the  students from our group even brought Don a Tri-Bond clue, got to record himself reading it, and will be on air tomorrow morning around 7:45 am – very cool!!!

We all went to Chick-Fil-A for lunch after our tour and then headed home…what a FUN fieldtrip!

IMG_9148IMG_9153IMG_9165IMG_9170IMG_9172IMG_9176IMG_9177IMG_9185IMG_9188IMG_9194IMG_9195IMG_9196IMG_9202IMG_9204IMG_9208IMG_9211IMG_9213IMG_9221IMG_9222

__________________________________

WAIT…KEEP READING!!!!!!

Here’s chance #3 to enter my drawing for a FREE full family registration to the 2016 HEAV Homeschool Convention:

061215-Ruth Willet_0515

Leave a comment on this post telling me your favorite Christian song that is currently playing on the radio (feel free to share why it’s special to you)! I can’t wait to hear how God is speaking to you through His gift of music!

Click here to hear my new favorite (and hear the story behind it) – soooo pretty!!!

10 thoughts on “Fieldtrip to PER Radio

  1. My favorite song is “Trust in You” by Lauren Daigle. It has gotten me through some rough patches over the past year. I love how she writes her songs. It is a conversation with God. Loved being on the field trip with you guys today!!! 🙂 Thanks for taking great pictures!

  2. Oh my goodness! I love your favorite song too! I hadn’t heard the story behind it. Thank you for sharing it. 🙂

  3. Just be held by casting crowns

  4. Man! I wish I could’ve come to this field trip! Combining my love of Christian Music with Radio would’ve been a blast!

  5. I have to say that the yoga pants song we got to hear today was quite good! We don’t listen to the radio that often, we usually have a book on tape playing or one of the SMAK CD’s or a few others we own. But we will have to turn it on to hear Noah tomorrow! You know what I really think about when I think about christian music is Jesus Loves Me. I think that is my favorite. The picture of me and the boys looks like we are all so serious she must have been talking about how tiny the break room use to be that they had to share with the mice! Loved our trip!

    • We had a blast too! Jesus Loves Me is always a special song – I think it’s one of the first that people learn. I work with the elderly and they always remember that one and sing along…precious!!!

  6. Jonny Diaz – Breathe This song reminds me to stop and slow down, that this “race” will not be won by the fastest or the one that does the most. It reminds me that I have everything I need right in front of me if I stop to take the time to seek and truly see. Plus just maybe the part about the 3rd cup of coffee reminded me of someone I know 🙂

Leave a Reply

